I am not God



My hair moves because the wind moves.

My body moves fluently because water flows through it.
My feet clutch the ground because the earth has always been beneath.
My eyes see because there is sun.
My eyes close because there is night.
I am not God.  God is God.  That is All.

There is great danger that comes with spirituality, many creaky bridges and landslides on the road.  One trap is mistaking self for Oneness.

When you realize that you could not exist without all the workings of the universe, and that all the stars and planets and plants and animals share a single spirit, a single breath, a single fire which knows no limits, it is natural to say I am One with the Universe, or I am God, or I am Christ.

But after the realization has passed, the language may remain without the meaning.  It’s hard for me to remember that “I” is only a thought within God, a small incomprehensible thought without substance or meaning, without any independent truth.

Buddhists make this into a holy paradox, for better or worse, by worshiping the Buddha person and ideal while neglecting the Eternal Oneness (called the Atman, the Eternal Self).  Because of this dogmatic emphasis Buddhism as a philosophy is self-centered at the end of the day, full of morals and decrees for individual advancement.

But the One rejects nothing, knows neither good nor bad.  The One is merely truth.  It is the many that is the illusion.  Saying, “I am God,” does not convey the same wisdom as Christ’s words, “I and the Father are One,” because the phrase, “I am God,” leaves out your sister, your neighbor, your enemy, your dog, who are all God as well.  Even the word “One” or “God” creates an illusion in the mind.  An inexplicable independence in the eternal unity, an illusion destined to perish into truth, as one who stands and says, “I am me!” is bound to return to the earth, the house of stars and planets.

But when One stops looking for Oneness, there is no illusion.  There is neither sound or listener.

An eternity of empty space
A day of wind and moon.

Leave a Reply

